Tags

, , , , , , ,

Isn’t the interview process stressful? I mean, they could ask you anything! Trying to think back to my last interview is like remembering a past life – one where I was green and inexperienced, where I showed up half an hour early wearing a mismatched suit and heels I didn’t quite know how to walk in. I think this was the moment in life when I realized grey is the absolute worst color to wear when one is nervous and sweaty. Still, despite the change in wardrobe and confidence gained with experience, I’m stressed. Always fearing the worst, I picture an exam-style Q&A where I’m asked to analyze minute details of the company’s financial statements as they relate to the overall communications strategy of the company. In french.

Luckily, my interviewers are real people who wanted to have a down to earth conversation about marketing & communications. It goes well.

And so, it’s time for a change. I’ve accepted a position with Horizon Housing Society as Marketing & Communications Manager. After returning from the “big trip” in January, I decided to give myself a year before looking for something new. What’s that saying about “the best laid plans”? Anyway, the plans went sideways when they made me an offer I couldn’t refuse. So here I am, at the end of an era in the hospitality industry and on the horizon of a new day with affordable housing. The key for me is that my work revolves around marketing and, to borrow a phrase from my colleague Julie, ‘the amazing human ability to convey meaning in unique ways’.

I’ll miss my Travelodgians. I’ve learned so much. Like my favorite pair of blue jeans, putting on my Travelodge pants is something I’ve grown to take comfort in: they’re familiar, they’re cozy, I know every pocket and threadbare hem and quirky feature inside and out. But if my mother has taught me nothing else, it’s that if you’re comfortable doing something, it’s not an adventure at all. It’s time for some new pants.

“What is that feeling when you’re driving away from people and they recede on the plain till you see their specks dispersing? It’s the too-huge world vaulting us, and it’s good-bye. But we lean forward to the next crazy venture beneath the skies.”
-Jack Kerouac

