Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It’s been a busy week. A fantastic spring skiing weekend in Revelstoke over Easter, followed by a three-day trip to Windsor, Ontario, topped off with an upcoming weekend of course work and graphic design projects. When I get busy I have the bad habit of putting other important parts of my life on hold (writing, exercising, cooking, eating properly, paying attention to my husband). Speaking of bad habits, here are five of mine (at least four of which I’m guilty of exhibiting today):

1. Snooze Button: I don’t have a snooze button on my alarm – my alarm rings, I turn it off, and immediately go back to bed for 5, 10, 15, sometimes 20 minutes. Is it really worth the stress of getting up and rushing, rushing, rushing to get to work on time every single morning? The problem is, when I’m warm, cozy, snuggled deep into my feather duvet in the dark of an early weekday winter morning: it is worth it. It always seems like a good idea at the time.

2. Choc-Alot: This is maybe my one true addiction. I can’t think of a day in recent history when I haven’t had at least some chocolate. If it’s not in the house, I’ll make some excuse to go out and get it (“Honey, I have to go fill the car up”, meanwhile stocking up at the Shell station with Mars bars and Mini Eggs). Tyler claims that somewhere in the house there is an emergency stash of chocolate. It’s comforting to know that if I am too sick or lazy or otherwise indisposed to get my daily fix, there is chocolate hidden somewhere within yelling distance. Does this make my husband an enabler?

3. Interrupting: Someone pointed out to me recently that I do this quite a lot: someone is saying something and I either interrupt by trying to finish their sentence, or disrupt their train of thought by speaking over them with a thought of my own. I hate when people do this to me so when someone mentioned I have this tendency, my ears perked up and my mouth zipped shut. This could be a product of being around people who make it difficult to get a word in edgewise. I’m not generally a really talkative person and so, when I’m on a roll or in the mood to speak, I tend to forget myself and speak what I’m thinking as I think it without regard to who’s speaking, or what is being said. Blah, blah, blah – it’s a work in progress.

4. Senseless Shopping: I had it in my head that I needed a new blender. I had to have a new blender. My quality of life would diminish significantly if I didn’t get a new blender. Was my blender broken? no. Do I use my blender frequently? no. Was I planning to start a smoothie making business from my kitchen? no. So why did I have to have a new $200 blender? I suppose it’s the same reason a person buys a new pair of shoes when they have 12 perfectly fashionable pairs in their closet – which is, I wanted a new blender. In the spirit of overcoming bad habits, I struck “blender” off my list of “To Buy” items (which probably leaves room in the budget for a new pair of “just because” boots).

5. So Shy: I don’t know if this is a personality trait or a bad habit, but it’s something that constantly frustrates me when meeting new people. Problem is, I think my extreme shyness often translates to appearing snotty or stuck up. This past week, I attended Online Revealed, a conference that focuses on digital marketing strategy. At these kinds of events, there are often cocktail hours or networking breaks which allow attendees to meet and mingle with other like minded people. Introducing myself to a stranger and then delving into conversation is something I find extremely difficult and sometimes painful. I freeze up. I clam up. I shut up. I find it hard to know what to say or how to appear comfortable and confident. I have difficulty speaking about myself to new people and so usually tend to fire off questions like a drill sergeant in an effort to deflect attention and conversation from myself. I don’t know if there’s a cure for shyness, but in the mean time, thank goodness for a strong cocktail (or five).

“Bad habits are like a comfortable bed: easy to get into, and hard to get out of”.
– Unknown

