Tags

, , ,

A helpful discovery: Kayak.com. One site (among many, I’m sure) that you put in your dates, cities, and boom! You get airfares from a bunch of different airlines listed from cheapest to most expensive. Plus, if you’re not quite ready to book, set a price alert and receive an email notification when the fare goes up OR down. Awesome.

Direct flight to Paris for two booked September 30, $1100 all-in. We’re already picturing ourselves enjoying baguette and bon bons in the shadow of the Eiffel tower.

A word about Paris: it was never on the list of “must goes” BUT, according to all I’ve spoken to who have been there, I’d be crazy not to write it in permanent, waterproof marker on the list of HAVE to goes. Seeing Europe without Paris is like wine without chocolate – still good – still intoxicating – but simply not as sweet. The verdict is still out –  maybe Mona Lisa will cast her spell and we’ll fall in love, like so many others, with Paris.

“Though I often looked for one, I finally had to admit that there could be no cure for Paris.”
-From The Paris Wife (excellent book)

Update: Search conglomerates such as kayak.com are smarter than I thought possible. One night I was checking rates on my laptop and had Tyler look up the same dates. His computer search found a cheaper rate! If you go on a lot, does it flag you as a “needy customer” who will possibly pay more to book? Don’t know – but check out rates on different sites, different computer – in essence – do lot’s of research (and have patience) when you’re spending the big bucks to travel!

